LCHF Experiments in the Kitchen.

When I first started on the LHCF diet – I am going to be honest, I was slightly intimidated by it. I had gone from someone who believed everything was OK in moderation to someone who was cutting out an entire food group – carbs!

For the foodie in me – this was difficult. I love cooking and the idea to never make a certain pasta dish, or rice dish again was hard to come to terms with. However, as the months went by, and I saw how good my body felt living without these dishes my desire to make them diminished.

In fact, by adopting the LCHF diet – I believe it has not only made me a better cook but also more adventurous in the kitchen. I am always thinking of ways to adapt a recipe or experimenting with ideas I would have previously not even considered.

Like this Pork Melanese with crushed pork rind ‘breading’ that I made today. I would NEVER have thought of using crushed pork rinds had I not been trying to figure out how to make a batter without breadcrumbs.

IMG_5179

Milanese with crushed pork rinds, on a bed of cucumber and onion salad.

And although this recipe still needs a bit of tweaking to be ‘perfect’ it still was delicious and I am proud of it! So although I don’t have an exact recipe to give you today, however I wanted to share these pictures with you today to give you some inspiration and ideas for your LCHF Kitchen!

IMG_5165

Crushed pork rinds – next time I am going to blitz them in the food processor.

IMG_5168

The most fun part of the dish – bashing the pork chops as thin as possible!

IMG_5170

‘Breaded’ Melanese!

What I plan to do different next time, is put the pork rinds in a food processor to make finer ‘crumbs’ and I think cut down on the cooking time a bit (3 – 4 mins) as the pork was slightly too dry and over cooked. However, once I have perfected this technique you can be sure you will find it in The Travelling Chopsticks 🙂

Hope you enjoyed it!

IMG_5177

2 thoughts on “LCHF Experiments in the Kitchen.

  1. Nice recipe. A Chinese dish I like is diced/minced pork skin fried in its own melted lard, removed from the bubbling liquid, then added in moderation to a sauteed vegetable dish. There is much more vegetable than pork skin pieces (ratio is up to the chef, naturally), but the objective is that the skin is added to the vegetables while they cook and flavors the vegetables. Mmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

