Cheesy Cauliflower Mash!

Oh my goodness – I finally understand the craze surrounding cauliflower mash in the LCHF world! It is AMAZING.

photo 3 (20)

Isn’t it beautiful?

I have tried to make cauliflower mash before, and I just wasn’t convinced! The first time I tried to make it, was in my first week of LCHF and it was a disaster! I put the boiled cauliflower into a food processor and I produced something akin to glue!

However, last week I decided I had to give cauliflower mash another try, and after a couple of tweaks, I managed to make something that was truly divine! So much so, I couldn’t stop myself from ‘tasting’ it just to make sure it really was that good!

What made all the difference for me was the following two things

  1. Use a handheld mixer.
  2. Really boil the cauliflower so it is very soft (this really reduces the ‘grainy’ texture)
  3. Add really sharp cheese (like parmesan or sharp cheddar) – this compliments the cauliflower flavour so well, and almost hides that distinct cauliflower taste which some people may not like that much (my hubby being one of them!)!

Now that I know how to make a seriously good cauliflower mash, I feel as though it has just opened up a whole new realm of possibilities – next attempt Cottage Pie 🙂

photo 2 (22)

Just in case you forgot how beautiful it looked…

Cheesy Cauliflower Mash

What you will need:

  • 1 large head of cauliflower
  • Water to boil (enough so it covers all the cauliflower)
  • 50g butter
  • 100 – 200g sharp cheese – grated
  • 100ml cream

The measurements for the butter, cheese and cream are all approximates. As you should add as much or as little as you like depending on what your preference is on flavour. I personally feel the more cheese you add – the better it tastes 🙂

What you do:

  • break the cauliflower into florets, discard the main stem.
  • In boiling water (or chicken stock), boil the cauliflower florets until very soft in a large pot. This took me a good 20-25 minutes.
  • Once you feel the cauliflower is soft enough, drain the cauliflower in a colander, give it a good shake then pop the cauliflower back into the pot and put the lid on.
  • Let the cauliflower sit in it’s own steam for a few minutes. I took this opportunity to work on the other components for dinner.
  • Put in a generous amount of butter, and then with your handheld mixer zap the cauliflower. This is where the large pot comes in handy – so you don’t get bits of cauliflower splattered on to your wall.
  • Add the grated cheese and continue to mix with the handheld.
  • Continue adding, cheese, butter and cream until you get a consistency that you are happy with and a flavour that you like.
  • Serve immediately

Serve this with any meat or chicken dish – I served this with Lemon & Oregano Chicken Legs the other night, and it was excellent. But quite frankly, I liked this so much, I could make the cauliflower mash and just eat it on its own!

photo 1 (21)

11 thoughts on “Cheesy Cauliflower Mash!

  1. That looks and sounds soooooo good! Can I use my Ninja blender since I don’t have a handheld mixer? Will the consistency still come out the way I want it ?

  2. I love cauliflower, and I love cheese… This will be on the menu for tomorrow night. (Tonight is giant black mushrooms with creamy spinach, feta & bacon, with half an avocado on the side!). We started banting on Sunday, and so far I only miss potatoes…

    • Your dinner tonight sounds fabulous! Its very difficult for me to get mushrooms here in Brasilia (strange!) and I miss portobello mushrooms so much! They are the perfect vehicle for the creamy spinach 🙂

      Let me know how the cauliflower cheese goes – it took me a couple of try’s to get the right consistency!

Leave a Reply

