Deconstructed Salad!

So, I hate the word “salad”. I hate the idea that when your trying to lose weight or live healthily you should just eat salads. There is nothing more dull to my mind than a salad! And to be more specific I think eating lettuce is as exciting as eating grass!

However, I do love my veggies – and recently I have been eating what I call a ‘deconstructed salad’ for lunch and I love it. I basically leave out the ‘grass’ and just focus on all my favourite parts of a salad. The cucumbers, tomatoes, nuts, eggs, ham and cheese etc etc sprinkle a little bit of olive oil, salt, pepper and dry (or fresh) herbs*, and you have a great quick yet filling meal in the middle of the day.

photo (6)

I think this is also a great way to monitor your meat consumption and ensure you are getting a good amount of veggies into your diet. When I first started LCHF I felt that I had to incorporate meat into every meal – and then it dawned on me that this is a low carb HIGH Fat diet, not a low carb HIGH meat diet!

*Depending on how strict LCHF you are – you can also add a little bit of balsamic vinegar to give it that extra little kick.

Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Deconstructed Salad!

Leave a Reply

