Stir Fry Beef with Carrot ‘Noodles’

Do you remember a few weeks ago I made zucchini noodles by hand? Well after I wrote that post – I went online and immediately ordered myself this:

413KFVX3VKL

This little handy tool is called a julienne peeler and is great for making ‘noodles’ or ‘spaghetti’ out of anything 🙂

So today, for lunch I decided to make a beef stir fry using carrots as my ‘noodle’. It was a really good and satisfying lunch. My only complaint is that there was probably not enough fat in it, but I am rectifying that now, buy having a hot tea with cream!

photo (5)

You can make this with any of your favourite stir fry recipes. Prepare the meat and vegetables like you would normally, and in the last 3-5 minutes throw in your julienned carrot. I like my carrots still slightly crunchy, so I just stir them in and let them get heated through and then lunch is ready 🙂

Now before you go and start complaining that carrots are not ‘LCHF’ I will agree with you. If you are on a strict LCHF diet, you should not be eating any root vegetables due to the sugar content. However, rules need to be broken sometimes. right? 🙂

I have been fielding a lot of questions recently on how much carbohydrates am I allowed to eat? What should my ratios be? What is considered LCHF? And in all honesty it seems there is no hard or fast rule on this – even amongst the LCHF experts! But there is common sense!

Lets have a look at the carrot for example. For every 100g there is 10g of carbohydrate, which when compared to 17g in a potato, 23g in rice and 75g in pasta….I think it is fare to say it is pretty low. So my feeling is, if you want to use it to make your ‘noodles’ every so often, do it! In order for LCHF to be a success for you and is a diet you can live with, I think it is important to vary your meals and not to get stuck in a rut!

What are your thoughts on bending the rules? are you a strict LCHFer or slightly more liberal?

4 thoughts on “Stir Fry Beef with Carrot ‘Noodles’

  1. Hi. I have been eating LCHF for just I over two months. I don’t count my carbs, I’m just aware of what not to eat. If I choose to have carrots, I will, but maybe only twice a month, not everyday. The same with fruit and very dark chocolate. I love egg and bacon in the mornings with a coffee topped with cream, salad or green veg with meat for lunch and then maybe some nuts to snack on during the day. The evening can be an omelette or just a steak with cheese. It suits me, my IBS and Acid reflux have gone, I have also lost weight, but what is also very important to me is that I can eat the food that I have deprived myself from in fear of it not being healthy. All I can say is that my grandmother and my mother ate this way back in the forties and fifties and they didn’t have the obesity and diabetic problems that we see today. I’m free to eat and enjoy at last and without counting anything!

  2. I am not totally ready to begin LCHF but I just wanted to say that I really appreciate your blog. I check it from time to time and it’s a great resource. THANK YOU 🙂

    • Thanks Elly – I really appreciate your kind comments!! And it really encourages me! Sorry it has been slightly quite the last week, I have been travelling but I will soon be home and will be posting some more inspiration 🙂 and when your ready to give LCHF ago, please get in touch if you need any advise! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Cacio e pepe – zucchini style! | The LCHF Club!

Leave a Reply

