Cabbage Is My New Best Friend

The last week I have discovered cabbage! Don’t get me wrong, I have always enjoyed cabbage, but it is something that I don’t cook with often. However, recently I have been substituting thinly sliced cabbage  for carbs and I have to say it is working pretty well and it is a very versatile vegetable!

Yesterday I made a spicy stir fry with minced meat and vegetables – I wanted something with a bit of a punch and used curry, cumin and chili powder. Instead of rice or noodles, I added in the sliced cabbage and fried it all until it was done and I have to say it was a very satisfying meal. It really reminded me of noodle dish.

IMG_1094

Before you say anything, I completely agree with you all – this picture is not the most appetizing of photos! But hey, as long as it tastes good! The reason why I’m posting it, is to give you some ideas of how to substitute carbs. This may not be something you serve your guests at a dinner party (I know I certainly would not), but if you are looking for a quick mid-week meal this hits the spot.

I also added a huge dollop of natural yoghurt (I can’t get sour cream in Brazil) to up the fat content and make it more filling!

Talking of terrible photos – have you guys seen the buzzfeed of Martha Stewart’s photos? They are terrible….so it made me feel so much better and gave me the confidence to post the above! Check out this link if you fancy a giggle 🙂

http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelzarrell/someone-needs-to-tell-martha-stewart-her-food-tweets-are-dis

 

 

One thought on “Cabbage Is My New Best Friend

Leave a Reply

