LCHF Back to Basic November!

For those of you who have been following my blog from the start – know that I was not sold on this diet from the beginning. However, due to the excellent results that my brother who is diabetic had from being on this diet, I became intrigued, and decided that I needed to check it out on my own.

After completing my self imposed one month challenge – I was loving the results and I decided to extend the challenge for two months. After that two month period, I was convinced, I am now an LCHF convert! I absolutely love this way of eating and living! My body felt stronger, my skin had improved remarkably, my nails were harder and I generally had a feeling of well being.

However, as the months passed, I have felt my self be increasingly liberal with my diet. Although I am 100% committed to the idea of LCHF I was allowing small amounts of carbs and sugars back into my diet, and increasingly making exceptions. I know for a fact this is because we have recently moved to Brazil and we are being more social than usual in an effort to make friends. Coupled with the fact that I am lucky to be very healthy person, I am not overweight, thus have no real ‘need’ to be on this diet more than the fact that I think it is the right thing to do!

But it is time to real in the reigns!

Starting tomorrow, on the 1st of November – I am going back to LCHF old-school style! What does that mean? Well just being super restrictive with the amount of carbs, sugar and starch that I am putting into my body. I actually think it is worth doing this every couple of months, to keep yourself on track and to remind yourself of the benefits.

And incase you guys need reminding or would like to join me here are the general rules of LCHF and what I intend to eat in the next 30 days (note: if it is not on this list, it is not LCHF!):

Golden Rule No. 1: Eat when your hungry and until you are sated. Do not count calories or weigh your food and absolutely avoid all low fat products!

Golden Rule No. 2: Eat meat, fish, poultry, eggs, all above ground vegetables and of course natural fats.

Golden Rule No. 3: Eat food that has a maximum 5g of carbs per 100g of food.

Golden Rule No. 4: Cut out all processed and unnatural food, and cut out any food product that is low fat (this deserves a double emphasis!).

If I follow these rules closely – I think I will be doing pretty well in November! So what am I allowed to eat?

  • Meat: All types: beef, pork, chicken and game – fat and all! There will be no removing the chicken skins or cutting away the fat – these are the best bits 🙂
  • Fish and Shellfish: All types: especially fatty fish such as salmon, mackerel or herring. However, unfortunately in Brasilia it is hard to come by fresh fish and seafood, so I will not be eating this as much as I should.
  • Eggs: All types: chicken, duck and quail. Prepared how you like it boiled, fried, omelets or scrambled – your choice!
  • Natural Fat, High-Fat Sauces: Using olive oil, coconut oil, butter and cream when cooking. Not only does it make your food taste amazingly it will also make you feel more sated.
  • Vegetables that Grow Above Ground: The list is quite extensive but here are a few to think about: all types of cabbage (ex. cauliflower, broccoli and brussels sprouts), asparagus, courgettes (zucchini), aubergines (eggplants), olives, spinach, lettuce, mushrooms, cucumber, avocado, onions, peppers, tomatoes…the list goes on!
  • Dairy products: Always select full-fat options like real butter, cream (40% fat), sour cream, Greek/Turkish yogurt and high-fat cheeses. Be careful with regular milk and skim milk as they contain a lot of milk sugar.
  • Nuts: Good snack option.

Now, my problem is the alcohol and chocolate! What exactly is moderation?…I HATE that term. What I consider moderation may not be moderation to someone else. So during November this is my goal:

  • Alcohol: Once a week in unlimited quantities  – I have to be realistic! 😉 However this is limited to wine and straight spirits (absolutely NO sugary mixers including juice!). It is a good thing that I really like whiskey on the rocks!
  • Chocolate:  The jury is still out on this one. My favourite indulgence during the day is having a couple pieces of dark chocolate after dinner. However, I am going to try and cut this down dramatically!

Last night at dinner, after I had announced my November plan a girlfriend said that she would never be able to do this, carbs were such an important part of her meals and what exactly was I going to eat. In case you are thinking the same – here are a few photos of very LCHF meals….lets see if you need any further convincing 🙂

IMG_0990

Smoked Salmon and cream cheese on seed bread! (breakfast or snack!)

IMG_1049

Mice meat stuffed aubergine with melted cheese!

IMG_0413

Double burger with bacon, sauteed onions and melted cheese – serve with a salad.

photo (1)

Pork chops with cream mustard sauce and roasted cauliflower (avoid the carrots if being skirt)

IMG_0573

Stuffed peppers with meat sauce with melted cheese

IMG_0622

Roast Salmon with pesto & cheese topping

IMG_0627

Courgette noodles with pesto dressing

IMG_0646

Roasted Chicken with Oregano and Lemon

IMG_1020

Steak with a red wine and mushroom sauce!

I challenge any one to tell me these dishes are boring and they could not possibly eat an LCHF diet! 🙂

What are your thoughts? Do you want to join me and challenge yourself in November? 🙂

10 thoughts on “LCHF Back to Basic November!

  1. Yum! YUUUUMMMM! Girl, your food looks amazing! Back to basics and I love it! No one needs carbs when you’ve got all that lovely fat!

  2. I’m with you on this. I just started LCHF Oct 26th and it’s a bumpy start as I live and work on a cruise ship. I was vegan. but my weight had increased and I couldn’t it budge it for months no matter what I did – starve myself, cut things out, 24 hour fasts. I’m very active and was consuming so much soy and wheat and dried fruit. I had done a ketogenic diet briefly last year in an attempt to cure my chronic fatigue and it worked great for that but I started to feel increasingly morally guilty consuming animal products. However, even just a few days back on LCHF and my fatigue has waned my bloating is gone..we’ll see about weight as we have company weigh in’s bi-weekly and its on Wednesday (did I mention I’m a professional dancer and aerialist?). I’m finding the diet isn’t that hard actually on the ship – there’s eggs for breakfast (and bacon though I’m not sure if there’s carbs in the bacon and sausages available), half and half is always available with coffee or tea, raw salads and meats (though who knows whats in the sauces so i’ve tried to stick to hamburger patties and stews where I just pick out the chunks of lamb or beef. though the bbq salmon is really good, I just try to scrape most of the sauce off). I bought a jar of coconut oil to keep with me and sometimes I’ll add a spoonful to my coffee and cream in the morning. The only hang up I’m having is adding splenda packets to my coffee and drinking a bunch of diet coke…

  3. Hey Crista – thanks for stopping by. I can imagine being on any kind of diet is pretty tough when you work on a cruise ship as you really do not have control over what is in the food you are eating! However, you seem to be coping pretty well 🙂 I am a big believer that it is about making the best choice that is available to you. I reckon though, if you can kick the splenda and diet coke habit – you will be feeling much better in the next few weeks. Although I’m not an expert I have read that even though there is no ‘sugar’ per say in these items, due to the sweet nature your brain still treats them as sugar which means your insulin will spike! I would focus on that to begin with! Good luck with LCHF and keep me posted on your progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

