Inspiration and Zucchini Spaghetti with Pesto

Have you guys seen this buzzfeed yet?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/christinebyrne/satisfying-low-carb-dinners

23 Super Satisfying Low Carb Dinner – it really gave me such good inspiration for upcoming meals! And as luck would have it, I nearly had all the ingredients at home for No. 9 Pesto Zucchini Spaghetti today, so I made it for lunch!

I don’t know why I haven’t made this before! I have often seen recipes substituting spaghetti with zucchini and it never really grabbed my attention, but as I had everything at home today it seemed that it was a sign 🙂

Unfortunately I don’t have a mandoline, so I made the ‘noodles’ the old fashioned way – julienned them with a knife! It took a while, but I got there in the end.

IMG_0627

It was delicious! It really felt as though I was eating pasta (just slightly watery)! I will definitely be making zucchini spaghetti again, and straight after I post this entry I will be ordering a mandoline on Amazon (it was just too much work by hand!).

What do you guys normally substitute pasta with?

5 thoughts on “Inspiration and Zucchini Spaghetti with Pesto

  1. Have you tried shirataki noodles and seagrass noodles? They contain almost no carbs, and are really good, but you need to use a sause with a lot of taste, because the noodles themselves don´t taste much. Also in Sweden, there is a kind of pasta made of “mungbönor”, which is a kind of bean I don´t know the English name for. They are my favourite, but contain a bit more carbs than shirataki and seagrass. But are still so much healthier than ordinary pasta made of wheat.

  2. Pingback: Stir Fry Beef with Carrot ‘Noodles’ | LCHF...What?

  3. I use a speed peeler to make my noodles and I salt them for 30 mins, and then blanch them before eating, this makes a huge difference

  4. When I make zucchini noodles, i’ve found that if i don’t use the core (ie once you see seeds, stop) then it isn’t watery – do you do the same? and i cook it on a high heat. Not sure if this helps.

Leave a Reply

