Bight Size Snack

I have just discovered the best and most easiest LCHF snack ever! I don’t know why I haven’t thought about it before – hard boiled quail eggs!!

photo 1

I love the speckled nature of the quaill egg…goes very well with my kitchen counter tops!

Eggs are a huge part of the LCHF’ers diet, but for those times where I am feeling slightly peckish, a full hard boiled egg just seems too much of a commitment before dinner! However, I saw this package of quail eggs in the supermarket the other day (they seem to be very popular here in Brazil) and thought I had to try them.

photo 2

They really are tiny!

So I threw them all in a pot with water, put them on a stove over medium heat and once the water came to a boil, I turned off the heat and put the lid on the pot and let the eggs sit there for 5 minutes. I peeled three little eggs and this is probably the most difficult part about this snack – as it is rather fiddly. I sprinkled some salt on the eggs and I was done – and they were delicious! Tasted just like a regular chicken egg…but bite size 🙂

photo 3

Sprinkled with a little salt – you have a perfect little snack 🙂

 

The rest of the packet went back into the fridge, and now I have little snacks at a moments notice! Why have I not thought of this before?

Leave a Reply

