Jalapeno Poppers

The other evening I went to a friends house for a girls dinner, and she introduced me to these jalapeño poppers which she served as pre-dinner nibble. They are not only incredibly LCHF but they also incredibly good  🙂

IMG_1815

Last night I thought I would test them out myself and to see if C liked them – which he did. They can be rather spicy, but the cream cheese balances it out quite nicely.

I don’t really think I can call it a recipe, but this is what I did:

Jalapeño Poppers

  • Fresh Jalapenos
  • Cream Cheese (room temperature)
  • Smoked Bacon

Cut the jalapeños in half lengthwise and scrape out all the seeds and veins and rinse under cold water. Make sure you are very thorough with this, as this is where all the heat and spiciness lies.

With a spoon spread the cream cheese into the jalapeno halves. Be quite liberal with the amount of cheese.

Wrap a slice of smoked bacon around the jalapeno and cream cheese, and secure with a toothpick.

Put them on a grilling wrack and pop them into the oven about 180C until the bacon is crisp (about 15-20 minutes).

Alternatively pop them under the broiler.

IMG_1816

You can serve these bad boys as a pre-dinner nibble when you have guests (I find snacks are the hardest things to prepare on the LCHF diet). They can also work as a light dinner alongside a salad (which is what C and I did last night).

Hope you enjoy them 🙂

6 thoughts on “Jalapeno Poppers

  1. Pingback: [Fan Club] LCHF Lifestyle - Part 2 - Page 434 - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

  2. That looks sooooo good! I want to try makin them tomorrow night. I had a friend who tried something similar with cheddar cheese and the melted cheese ran out of the peppers. Is that a problem with the cream cheese?

      • I tried them last night . OMG! They were sooooooooo good! A few of them were really hot because I didn’t get the veins completely out. But I don ‘t mind spicy if I’m in the mood for it. The rest came out pretty mild though, that was my first time working with fresh jalapeños. I forgot the toothpicks, but the bacon stayed wrapped tight around them. I will definitely make them again 🙂

      • I am soo glad you liked them! I have to say – they are definitely a favourite around here 🙂 I love spicey so I usually am quite careless about the veins, but if I am making it for friends, then I pay more attention 🙂

Leave a Reply

