My Big Fat Diet – Documentary

So I was browsing the web as usual looking for interesting programs or speeches on LCHF, and came across this moving CBC Documentary from 2008 called My Big Fat Diet.

The documentary is based on the Namgis who are First Nation people of Alert Bay in Northern Canada. It is well documented that the indigenous population of Canada suffer from high rates of obesity and diabetes, and according to mainstream health experts this is due to a sedentary lifestyle and a diet rich in fat.

However Dr. Jay Wortsman does not believe that this is the case and says that carbohydrates, sugar and junkfood are to blame and persuaded the community of Alert Bay to take up a dietary challenge that returned them to a traditional style of eating for one year, and to see what the results were.

I really enjoyed watching this documentary and following the progress of this community over a year. It was very moving and touching as you saw how people’s lives generally improved with this new way of eating. However this documentary was aired in 2008 (slightly dated) and I cannot find any new information on how the community is doing today – I really hope that they do a follow up program!

http://vimeo.com/32234815

What really struck me about this documentary is that it shows that the LCHF diet is not just some fad diet coming out of Sweden, but rather Dr’s and scientists all over the world are coming to this conclusion. Our health care professionals need to start looking at this way of eating more seriously – why are we still wasting time with a method that just doesn’t work!!

I hope you enjoy the video!

4 thoughts on “My Big Fat Diet – Documentary

  1. Great documentary! Dr. Phinney has a wonderful book that is an easy read with tons of valuable info. “The Art and Science of Low Carb Performance”, it will give you the fundamentals of the diet. Another by Dr. Phinney is ‘The New Atkins For A New You!”

    • HI Guy, Thanks so much for stopping by and I am glad that you enjoyed the documentary. I have heard of Dr. Phinney however I have not had the chance to read any of his work, thanks for the recommendation I will see if I can buy it on Amazon! 🙂

      • Hi TTC,
        Here is a suitable link to find out more about what Dr. Phinney speaks about. I purchased both books. I’m down 25 pounds using his methods. If you purchase just one, purchase the “Performance” book, it goes into greater detail to apply to your every day life. The other book is the ‘why’ behind it all. 🙂 http://www.artandscienceoflowcarb.com/ I’m a former ‘carb-tard’ after reading these books!

  2. Dr. Phinney and Dr. Volek both go into great detail to actually explain the ‘science’ behind low carb, it is very revealing and highly interesting to say the least.

Leave a Reply

