Melanzana Alla Parmigiana

Remember how I was complaining that I just felt that I was eating far too much meat? Well I was determined to find more vegetarian dishes that I could include into my weekly meal plans to give myself a bit of a break.

Without realising it, I had a great vegetarian dish sitting right under my nose. I only came across it when I was browsing through my other blog The Travelling Chopsticks.

Melanzana Alla Parmigiana – is almost like a vegetarian lasagna, using aubergine as the layers and filled with mozzarella and parmesan, egg, basil and tomato sauce. I can’t believe that I forgot about it – as it really is one of my favourite meals.

You can find the recipe here

A word of warning, although this dish is pretty straight forward to make – its pretty tedious as you have to slice the aubergine, salt and sweat them for an hour and then fry them before you can use them – but I promise you it is worth it!

I made a big try last night (Sunday) and I am so excited that I get to have this for lunch/dinner in the next few days. C is out of town…so its all mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

